Ashley Gorley is ASCAP Country Songwriter of the Year

NASHVILLE, Tenn.,  The 58th Annual ASCAP Country Music Awards, produced 2020-style in an revolutionary virtual format, was a winner throughout all digital platforms.


Exclusive video performances, greetings and photos from top songwriters, artists and publishers had been shared with the aid of @ASCAP on Instagram and Twitter. A complete listing of winners can be observed on the ASCAP website:

Highlights from the tournament included:

Welcoming remarks from ASCAP Chairman of the Board and President, Paul Williams: "Your songs lifted our spirits, added meaning to our lives and stimulated us to preserve going. That deserves to be celebrated."  LINK

ASCAP Country Songwriter of the Year Ashley Gorley, quarantining in Florida, gave thanks to the co-writers and artists accountable for seven of his #1 songs that earned him the top honor. "Thank you to my co-writers on the seven songs being honored this year; these songs wouldn't get written except you; I lean on you so heavy as pals and co-creators… Thank you to the artists… Brett Young, Chris Janson, Chris Lane, Dierks Bentley, Dustin Lynch, LOCASH and Thomas Rhett… Thank you guys so plenty for trusting me with your songs, for playing these, for pushing these, for believing in these songs. " LINK

Avenue Beat got very innovative as they honored Ashley Gorley with their very own unique, must-see humorous take on some of his #1 hits, channeling Lady Gaga, Shakira, Ariana Grande, Cher and T-Pain.  LINK

Old Dominion and their "One Man Band" co-writer Josh Osborne acquired the information of their ASCAP Country Song of the Year honor by way of an sudden cameo from Paul Williams on a Zoom name with executives from the ASCAP Nashville office. LINK Matthew Ramsey, Trevor Rosen and Brad Tursi marked the occasion with a stunning acoustic performance of "One Man Band," joined with the aid of Osborne. LINK

"I never in a million years notion that this music that I wrote as an apology was once going to kind of change my complete world this year," Carly Pearce said earlier than performing her CMA Award-winning hit, "I Hope You're Happy Now." LINK

Matt Stell became in a exceptional acoustic performance of his hit, "Prayed for You." LINK

Brett Young shared a message of thanks for his award, pronouncing "What's up ASCAP family… Thank you so a great deal for all the remarkable guide that you continually give, specially this yr to 'Catch' to assist make it one of the most-performed songs of the year... and a big congratulations to my buddy and co-writer on this song, Ashley Gorley… you are gonna run out of wall space exceptionally soon, buddy!" LINK

Garth Brooks, this year's Billboard ICON recipient, used to be an ASCAP winner for "Dive Bar," alongside with songwriter Bryan Kennedy. Kennedy expressed his thanks: "I'm very blessed to have written this with Mitch Rossell and Garth Brooks… us songwriters recognize we're nothing besides the studio musicians, the producers and of route the artists, the report labels, all the radio stations, but especially tonight, thank you ASCAP for being in my corner for so many years and persevering with to battle for the songwriter." LINK

Hit writer Jason "Poo Bear" Boyd shared that this is his first ASCAP Country Award, for Dan + Shay/Justin Bieber's "10,000 Hours," a hit he co-wrote with Bieber, Dan Smyers and Jordan Reynolds. LINK

Dan Smyers of Dan + Shay posted on @dansmyers, "I simply desired to say thank you so much for the two ASCAP awards this year, '10,000 Hours' and 'All to Myself.' None of these awards would be feasible except you guys, the fans, listening to these songs, the radio stations playing them… y'all are super man, thank you so a lot from the backside of our hearts, we love you." LINK

Justin Weaver reminded us that "2020's been a crazy year, but this was a exact highlight" as he time-honored his award for the #1 hit, "After a Few." LINK

Jennifer Denmark seemed like she snuck onto the pink carpet in full birthday celebration wear to pose with her award for Jimmie Allen's "Make Me Want To." LINK

Warner Chappell Music Nashville President Ben Vaughn typical the ASCAP Country Music Publisher of the Year award on video from his auto in front of ASCAP Nashville headquarters. "We desired to say thanks to ASCAP, thanks to Guy [Moot] and Carianne [Marshall] for all their support, thank you to our songwriters for being fantastic and additionally our team wants to say thanks to everyone."

The video wraps up with a montage of "thank yous" from sixteen Warner Chappell Music group members. LINK

BMG celebrated 2020-style with out of doors social distancing and confetti poppers as they honored their award-winning songwriters. LINK

Universal Music Publishing Group delivered a video congratulating their triumphing songwriters. LINK

Endurance Music Group's President Michael Martin popular their award for Jimmie Allen's "Make Me Want To," saying, "Hey ASCAP Nashville…I simply desire to say on behalf of Endurance Music Group thank you for all the extra work you guys have executed to make the awards manifest this year. I prefer to additionally say congrats to Paul Sikes, Matt Stell, Jimmie Allen and producer Ash Bowers, it's tremendously cool for us to be section of this experience with them…. Hopefully we can rejoice in character soon." LINK

Also today, ASCAP will celebrate its CMA Awards winners on social media such as country music legend Charley Pride, who acquired the Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award. Other ASCAP CMA winners consist of Old Dominion (Vocal Group of the Year), Dan + Shay (Vocal Duo of the Year), Carly Pearce (Musical Event of the Year – "I Hope You're Happy Now"), Jimmy Robbins (Song of the Year co-writer – "The Bones") and Greg Kurstin (Single of the Year producer/mix engineer – "The Bones"). 

Post a Comment