UCLA Anderson School Management Announces Gerald Loeb Awards highest honors journalism

Lifetime Achievement Award Presented to Lionel Barber of Financial Times; Alessandra Galloni of Reuters Received Lawrence Minard Editor Award

LOS ANGELES,  Journalists from round the world joined tonight's interactive Gerald Loeb Awards virtual event, where the 2020 winners had been announced, and two profession achievement honorees have been celebrated in the course of the live show. The Gerald Loeb Awards are amongst the highest honors in journalism, recognizing the work of journalists whose contributions illuminate the world of business, finance and the economy for readers and viewers worldwide.


The tournament featured a unique 3D surroundings developed through Pixel Canvas. Attendees may want to discover interactive elements of the environment, inclusive of areas where they may want to pay attention to synopses of entries from all finalists and be a part of group viewing rooms to textual content and video chat in the course of the show.

Tyler Mathisen, co-anchor of CNBC's Power Lunch, served as the grasp of ceremonies for the stay show. Antonio Bernardo, dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management and chairman of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation, welcomed Loeb Awards honorees and all attendees. Throughout the show, competition class announcements had been voiced by way of Frank Mottek, senior money anchor for KNX-CBS Los Angeles.

The Gerald Loeb Awards exhibit covered displays of two one of a kind awards for career contributions to journalism. The Lifetime Achievement Award honoree Lionel Barber, the former editor of the Financial Times, joined live from the United Kingdom. The Lawrence Minard Editor Award honoree Alessandra Galloni, world managing editor for Reuters, participated stay from Rome.

In addition, winners of 12 competition classes were named, and these journalists have been in a position to be a part of the exhibit and supply their acceptance remarks live. The following is a list of the 2020 Loeb Award recipients.


"Amazon: Behind the Smiles" – Reveal from the Center for Investigative Reporting and PRX

Will Evans, Katharine Mieszkowski, Taki Telonidis, Rachel de Leon, Kevin Sullivan, Najib Aminy, Andrew Donohue, Esther Kaplan, Matt Thompson, John Barth, Al Letson, Melissa Lewis, Hannah Young, Byard Duncan, David Rodriguez, Mwende Hinojosa, Jim Briggs, Fernando Arruda and Reveal staff


"Boeing's 737 MAX Crisis" – The Seattle Times

Dominic Gates, Mike Baker, Steve Miletich and Lewis Kamb

"How PG&E Burned California" – The Wall Street Journal

Katherine Blunt, Russell Gold, Rebecca Smith, Renée Rigdon, Yaryna Serkez and Dave Cole


"Crash in Ethiopia" – The New York Times

Hadra Ahmed, Hannah Beech, Selam Gebrekidan, David Gelles, James Glanz, Thomas Kaplan, Natalie Kitroeff, Jack Nicas, Norimitsu Onishi, Dionne Searcey, Kenneth P. Vogel and Zach Wichter


"America's Broken Health Care System" – Kaiser Health News

Elisabeth Rosenthal

"A Secret Life of Your Data" – The Washington Post

Geoffrey A. Fowler


"Death by using a Thousand Clicks" – Fortune and Kaiser Health News

Erika Fry and Fred Schulte


"Planet Fox" – The New York Times

Jonathan Mahler and Jim Rutenberg


"WhatsApp International" – Financial Times

Mehul Srivastava, Tom Wilson, Tim Bradshaw and Robert Smith


"Exploited" – The New York Times

Michael H. Keller, Gabriel J.X. Dance and Nellie Bowles


"Profiting from the Poor" – MLK50: Justice Through Journalism and ProPublica

Wendi C. Thomas, Deborah Douglas, Maya Miller, Beena Raghavendran and Doris Burke


"The TurboTax Trap" – ProPublica

Justin Elliott, Paul Kiel, Ariana Tobin and Lucas Waldron


"'Zone Rouge': An Army of Children Toils in African Mines" – NBC News Investigative Unit

Cynthia McFadden, Christine Romo, Lisa Cavazuti, Bill Angelucci and Daniel Nagin


"Clear Takeover" – Tampa Bay Times

Tracey McManus and Eli Murray

The board of trustees of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation and UCLA Anderson wish to thank all these who contributed to the success of the 2020 Loeb Awards. Premium Sponsor: Pixel Canvas; Platinum Sponsors: Financial Times, The New York Times, Reuters; Gold Sponsor: The Wall Street Journal; Bronze Sponsor: Los Angeles Times; Production Partner: Impact Arts Events Group.

The G. and R. Loeb Foundation, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit enterprise that operates principally from sponsorship and personal support. For extra facts about the awards, please go to http://www.anderson.ucla.edu/gerald-loeb-awards. 

Post a Comment