Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) announced 26 awardees

26 Individuals and Teams to be Recognized for Innovation at Annual Educational Conference

CHICAGO,  The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) announced 26 awardees for 2021, recognizing remarkable achievements from a diverse group of graduate medical education (GME) professionals. The recipients will be featured in an Awards Hall at the virtual ACGME Annual Educational Conference February 24-26, 2021.

"These talented honorees represent the best of GME, and the ACGME is pleased to celebrate their contributions to the field. Their commitment to health care and education will have a lasting impact into the future, and it is especially rewarding to recognize their success during these challenging times," said Thomas J. Nasca, MD, MACP, president and chief executive officer, ACGME.

Read the full press release and list of awardees.

The following awards were given:

The John C. Gienapp Distinguished Service Award, established in 1999 in recognition of John C. Gienapp, PhD who served as ACGME Executive Director for 19 years, honors individuals who have dedicated themselves to GME and made outstanding contributions to the enhancement of residency education and ACGME accreditation activities. This year's award was presented to:
Henry J. Schultz, MD, MACP

Mayo Clinic

Rochester, Minnesota

The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award, recognizing designated institutional officials
The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award, recognizing program directors
The David C. Leach Award, recognizing residents and fellows
The GME Institutional Coordinator Award, recognizing institutional coordinators
The Debra L. Dooley GME Program Coordinator Excellence Award, recognizing program coordinators

Post a Comment